The science of Purring Cats and Comics

This week, I’m excited to show a project I’ve been working on. My Dad, (small animal doctor and small animal) Chris Little, gave me a copy of “Biological, Earth and Environmental Sciences: Cartoon Abstracts”.

This magazine is a collection of Cartoons that describe different scientific papers and studies in easy to digest one page comics (you can find examples here: http://explore.tandfonline.com/page/est/cartoon-abstracts) . Dad had met one of the guys behind it and figured that I could try my hand at drawing a page.

I was given a paper my Dad had collaborated on; “Purring in cats during auscultation: how common is it, and can we stop it?” Bit of a mouthful, but in layman’s terms it’s about how cats purr when they’re in distress, which can be a pain when your trying to hear their heart rate and breathing, so how do you make them quiet down?

After drawing out a quick sketch I sat down with my new favorite gadget, the drawing tablet, and this is the result.purring cat comic jpeg

It’s not finished yet, but I’m really happy with the results so far.

In 2 weeks I’ll be showing the finished comic and maybe get back into the real world with my work. See you soon.

Leave a Reply

